Organisational structure

This webpage presents the existing organisational structure and organogram for NHS Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board. This information has been made available to demonstrate openness and transparency of public spending, however we expect this information will change in the coming weeks as the organisation continues to develop and change the way it is structured.

It is important to note that an ICB is a statutory NHS organisation which is responsible for developing a plan for meeting the health needs of the population, managing the NHS budget and arranging for the provision of health services in a geographical area.

The ICB was legally established on 1 July 2022, replacing clinical commissioning groups (or CCGs), taking on the NHS planning functions previously held by CCGs (as well as absorbing some planning roles from NHS England). Here in Lancashire and South Cumbria our ICB has replaced NHS Blackpool, NHS Fylde and Wyre CCGs, NHS Morecambe Bay CCG, NHS West Lancashire CCG, NHS Chorley and South Ribble, NHS Greater Preston CCGs, NHS Blackburn with Darwen CCG and NHS East Lancashire CCG. Find out more about what an ICB is here.

The financial information below for each of the executive’s portfolios reflects the annualised total pay costs for all staff employed by the ICB. This covers both the organisational running/administration costs, for which the ICB receives an allocation of £32.2m per annum, and the programme costs directly associated with service delivery which are covered by the core ICB programme allocation.

Running/administration costs cover the support functions of the ICB such as finance, human resources, corporate support and contract management.   Key areas of programme costs would be medicine management, quality management, continuing healthcare commissioning teams, safeguarding, referral management and mental health co-ordinators.

Chief executive portfolio

Chief executive officer - Kevin Lavery

Director of communications and engagement – Neil Greaves

Digital and data portfolio

Chief digital officer - Asim Patel

Chief technical officer - Andrew Thompson

Director of digital operations and assurance - Joe McGuigan

Associate director of digital intelligence and data science - Stewart Bond

Finance portfolio

Chief finance officer – Sam Proffitt

Director of operational finance – Katherine Disley

Director of strategic finance – Stephen Downs

Director of place and programme finance – Andrew Harrison

Director of strategic estates, infrastructure and sustainability – Alistair Rose

Director of corporate governance - Debra Atkinson

Medical portfolio

Chief medical director – Dr David Levy

Chief pharmacist – Andrew White

Associate medical director population health – Andy Knox

Director of population health – Andrew Bennett

Associate medical director transformation – Andy Curran

Associate medical director primary care – Lindsey Dickinson and Peter Gregory

Nursing portfolio

Chief nursing officer – Professor Sarah O’Brien

Chief allied health professional (AHP) – Stephen Sandford

Director of safeguarding – Margaret Williams and Ann Dunne

Director of children, young people and maternity – Vanessa Wilson

Director of quality assurance and safety – Kathryn Lord

Director of adult health and care – Jane Brennan

People portfolio

Executive lead

Acting chief people officer – Lee Radford

Director of culture and inclusion – Aisha Chaudhary

Director of organisational development (OD) and education – Lee Radford

Director of place and programmes (workforce) – Andrea Anderson

Director of transformation

Chief operating officer portfolio

Chief operating officer - Professor Craig Harris

Director of partnership and collaboration – Jane Cass

Director of emergency preparedness, resilience and response (EPRR) – Alison Whitehead

Director of urgent, emergency and planned care – Jayne Mellor

Director of planning and performance – Carl Ashworth

Director of primary care – Peter Tinson

Director of mental health and cancer - Fleur Carney

Director of ambulance and 111 commissioning - Chris O'Neill

Transformation and recovery portfolio

Chief of transformation and recovery

Director of performance and assurance - Roger Parr

Programme director, new models of care - Terry Whalley

Place - Blackburn with Darwen

Director of health and care integration for Blackburn with Darwen - Claire Richardson

Head of partnership development - Philippa Cross

Place – Blackpool

Director of health and care integration for Blackpool - Karen Smith

Place development and delivery lead - Blackpool - Karen Tordoff

Place – Lancashire

Director of health and care integration for Lancashire - Louise Taylor

Integrated place leader – Central - Sarah James

Integrated place leader – East - Jackie Moran

Integrated place leader - Lancashire North - Heather Crozier

Place - South Cumbria

Director of health and care integration for South Cumbria - Jane Scattergood

Director of place development and integration - South Cumbria - Vicki Ellarby

Organisation development in Lancashire and South Cumbria

As you would expect with bringing together eight organisations, there has been a considerable programme of organisational development for the ICB. This includes robust and transparent processes for working with staff to establish organisational structures appropriate for the strategic priorities of the ICB across Lancashire and South Cumbria.

As an ICB, we need to look at ways in which we can use our resources more effectively. In November 2022, the ICB agreed a number of measures to tackle some our financial challenges. A restructure of the organisation has been undertaken and a number of changes continue to be made to a number of teams where these may be being transferred between NHS organisations. 

Executive team

The structure information on this page is currently being updated to reflect the changes from a restructuring of the organisation. 

Accessibility tools

Return to header