Equality, diversity and inclusion

NHS Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board (ICB) is committed to:

  • eliminating unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation and other conduct prohibited by the Equality Act (2010);
  • advancing equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and those who do not; and
  • fostering good relations between people who share a protected characteristic and those who do not.

In this section, you will information about:

  • our approach to equality, diversity and inclusion;
  • equality and health inequality impact and risk assessments (EHIIRAs) and how they are used;
  • NHS mandated standards relating to equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI); and
  • how we report on EDI-related progress.

We're committed to making sure equality, diversity and inclusion is a priority when planning and commissioning health and care services for our population.

We want to make sure our services are appropriate, equitable and accessible for everyone - nobody should be disadvantaged or discriminated against.

To achieve this aim, we must demonstrate we’ve considered the impacts policies, services and practice have on our patient population and our workforce – particularly those people with protected characteristics or those from vulnerable groups.

The characteristics protected by the Equality Act (2010) are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Sex (gender)
  • Gender reassignment
  • Sexual orientation
  • Race
  • Religion and/or belief
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Marriage and civil partnership

We also consider other vulnerable groups such as:

  • Carers
  • Military veterans
  • Asylum seekers
  • Refugees
  • People from deprived areas

Not forgetting other groups that experience significant health inequalities such as those identified by the national Core20PLUS5 programme.

In this section

Accessibility tools

Return to header